Department of Economics

  • The Department of Economics was established in 1958 as one of the constituent departments of then new established Faculty of Economic and Social Studies.
  • The Department and since its establishment used to offer an academic programme in Economics leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science in Economics after completing 4 years of study.
  • Students are selected for the fifth year honors class on the basis of academic merit and they awarded a B.Sc. Honor's in economics.
  • After the adaption of the academic reform programme in 2003, the Department started to offer 3 specialization streams in economics, namely:
  • Economics & Finance,
  • Economics and Economics Development, and
  • Economics and Quantitative Analysis,